A short interview

Standard

Hi again everyone, after my sock blog today I thought I would start again with the useful information.

A couple of days ago I had a phone interview with a female police officer, this call was to just give me her opinions and information about the job. Like I have stated previously I have my father and my partners father to ask questions to because that are police officers but I have been wanting to talk to some that have been either recently put into the force or are female, I think this will then give me an overall perspective being a female myself.

The phone call consisted of a few questions, but the main one that struck a cord with me was her reasoning for joining, it was very similar to my circumstances and made me believe that I  must have been talking to the right person; a sign, if you wish! She wasn’t much older than me and isn’t much bigger than me as in height.

For any females considering joining, I asked if height has ever been an issue during her career so far.

She said the only time her height was ever picked on was during the academy stage, this didn’t really surprise me because I assume they like to pick on things during the academy process to try and get a feel for how people react to things.

The next thing she said what that It has never impacted her on the job, which is great news, I have always wondered if my height would be a disadvantage but the example she gave was one that I had already thought about. Her example was: Walking up to 2 large men arguing was made worse by being approached by another large male officer, whereas when she approached it almost calmed the situation.

The second question I asked was the best and worst part of the job.

Her response was a fantastic one, especially if there is someone looking at applying that hasn’t been exposed to the job before, the answer to the question was: “The job is a negative job, as an officer you are seeing people at their worst or at the most bottom point in life. It’s the people you work with and the way you deal with the situations that gets you through, It is more of a mental job than a physical, many people believe its all about the ability to use a gun or baton, but in all seriousness it’n not, simply because those are the last resort, those are the things that happen when all else fails. Its the communication and the ability to be able to talk to people that takes the most strength. ”  The worst part of the job for her is hearing about or dealing with cases involving children, she believes this is due to having a young family of her own, where as before she had her family It didn’t worry her so much. She also believes it is each to their own and personal circumstances at the time as to what will effect you personally.

The third question I asked was a little about her role and what it involves, I am going to leave this out for privacy reasons, however I think it is a good question and is worth wile asking to any officer, it definitely gives a broad perspective on the police force, the more knowledge the more confident you will be in the interview.

The fourth I asked was bout the situation questions that is asked in the interview and how in depth they where for her. Unfortunately for me her interview was slightly unconventional and short therefore no relevance to what mine might be like if I get through.

I asked another few questions but I will leave those for other interviews I conduct so not all the blogs include the same information. I hope by sharing this it helps anyone who is doing the same things as I am or gives some ideas to others.

Have a great night everyone.

Leave a Reply

