Turn Around

Standard

I wasn’t sure how to start this post and I pondered it for most yesterday afternoon and today, I was on my way to the gym when I found myself skipping through all the songs on my I Pod, I realized I was looking for something but I didn’t really know what. I knew that I wanted a song that made me feel that little zing of enjoyment, but why? I think that I hadn’t really woken up from my sleep, It was like I was just going through the motions of what I needed to do but not really paying much attention to anything in particular, I knew when I had woken up that I had to have a shower, wash my hair, do my make-up, get dressed, get food for dinner, cook dinner, get hydrated, go to gym, drive home, heat dinner, serve dinner, clean up and get ready for bed again. but while I was driving to gym I just felt like these motions and tasks that I was doing where just happening, don’t get me wrong my day wasn’t bad but those tasks where simply things to do before the next day could happen. I finally found the song which happened to be Pompeii ( Normally it drives me a little bonkers due to the fact it was played so much on the radio), I feel like the song ‘woke’ me up, the motions where no longer just motions and the day grew into something that needed to be accomplished not just completed. I arrived at the gym and I had listened to Pompeii abut 4 times before arriving, I did my usual warm up with a slight spring in my step since I was now aware of my day and that I wanted it to be a little more fun than just doing what had to be done, It made gym a little more enjoyable than anticipated and I had more energy to finish of the day instead of just going home and doing the rest of the tasks, I also made gnocchi to freeze for a later dinner and I made a mug pudding, the best I’ve ever made…I immediately felt the guilt set in once I ate it, but that’s besides the point, it was yummy! I am always amazed at what music can do not only for myself but for the others whom enjoy it just as much as I do, It seems to be able to make people rise and do things that normally might not be considered, I would be lying if I said that my running wasn’t improved by my favorite soundtracks. Sometimes I don’t listen to music for a wile because I’ve heard it all many times and then one day I find a new song or CD that I haven’t heard or heard in long time and it makes me feel excited and giddy, its always a good day when you find a piece of music that lifts the spirit no matter how happy you are already, it can take you to a whole new dimension of living. If you haven’t figured it out already I am one of those people that If I get a song stuck in my head or it fits for the occasion I listen to it over and over again, until I am well and truly sick of it, “I was born this way”. I realize not everyone has this same connection with music but I am certain they have those kinds of bonds with other things such as art or cooking or even the people who love adrenaline activities. 

The fact is that music can make a day go from boring or just another day to exciting, I’m glad that I found a song that woke me up yesterday so I could enjoy how beautiful the rest of the day was. 

 

 

To re-cap on the focus on this blog, I also spent some time doing more aptitude quizzes, they really hurt my brain. I’ve been aiming for perfect scores and I have been improving, so to anyone who says that they can’t do something, I would urge them to re consider because humans can do the most amazing things when we break down those boundaries and try. I also tried doing some fartlek on a bike yesterday and my god it hurt my legs, Its safe to say this will be something I will try to do more often so it’s not so damn hard when I do try to do it! Does anyone have any tips for bike workouts? Please share in the comments if you do. I would really like to hear from some people 🙂 

Image is from here

3 thoughts on “Turn Around

  1. I feel like hearing the right type of music, whatever kind, can definitely change your mood and outlook for the day. I’m the same way! If I hear a really good song, and it makes me feel awesome (as in getting goosebumps because I’m so uplifted awesome), then all is well.
    As for bike workouts, have you done some HIIT? This is one I’ve learned from an article on Runner’s World that can be applied to any workout:
    2 min. warm up
    5 min. slow
    :30 sec. fast
    1:30 steady
    (x 8)
    5 min. cool down
    This workout is not particularly long (should take about 25 min) but the key is to really push yourself during the fast intervals and then keep a steady pace after.
    Hope that helps!

    Like

      • Not a problem! I’m glad to help! I also wanna add, that I love that workout, haha. If I’m cross training on a bike or an elliptical, I do that workout, which is why I know it off the top of my head! It works especially well for those days when you’re just pressed for time. 🙂 Best of luck!

        Like

Leave a Reply

