the newest idea

Standard

Hi everyone, 

I haven’t written on here in a wile so I just wanted to post an update as to where I am. The last time I did the beep test I didn’t do so well, I am still training like usual, for those of you who haven’t read my blog before it usually consists of two days of personal training (full body weights) and then a minimum of 20 minutes cardio. I then try to do cardio and weights another two times a week, on top of a job which is also physically demanding. Lately I have been trying to find my groove, I feel like I fell out of place a little after training so well for weeks and then  not competing the beep test to the score I intended. On top of having a lack of motivation I also had sprained calf muscles which meant I couldn’t run for a week and a half, I am now only just working back into running. Having sprained calf muscles allowed me to try some different cardio workouts like- interval training on a bike and the rowing machine. I found it exciting to be doing different exercises but it didn’t take me long to realize how much I had started to enjoy my running sessions. 

The last beep test I did, my legs felt heavy and didn’t want to go any faster, I thought that doing the intervals on the bike would help- at least wile my calves were recovering but I knew something had to change to be able to move my legs faster. My partner had a brilliant idea of looking up the Km/h to the level on the beep test, I did and the result was really helpful which you can find here. I now know that to reach level 7 I have to be able to run 11.5 km/h for at least 7.5 minutes. I want to be able to go over level 7 which means to do this comfortably I should be running at 12-12.5 km/h for an extended period of 10 minutes or more…am I right?

I put this theory to the test last night- I figured because I was doing fartlek at 6 km/h for two minutes and then 9 km/h for another two lasting for 48 minutes I thought I would start practicing flat out sprinting at 10 km/h for as long as I could last, I only managed to hold the sprint for 2 minutes. I was slightly disappointed but I could feel during that period that my lungs weren’t struggling until the last 30-40 seconds, which meant my lungs weren’t to bad (in my eyes anyway), I figured the time would have been a lot worse if my lungs were giving out straight away. I tried the sprints a few more times with walking in-between, the times looked as followed: 
1. walk for 2 minutes

2. run at 7 km/h for 1 minute

3. Sprint for 2 Minutes

4. walk for 1.5 or 2 minutes

5. run at 7 km/h for 1 minute

6. Sprint for 1.5 minutes

7. walk for 1.5 or 2 minutes

8. run at 7 km/h for 1 minute

9. sprint for 1 minute (I tried to go longer but couldn’t)

10. walk for 1.5 or 2 minutes

11. run at 7 km/h for 1 minute

12. sprint for just under 2 minutes

13. walk for 2 minutes

14. sprint for 1

15. walk for 1

16. sprint for 1.5

and walk to cool down. 

I was impressed with my first attempt at the sprints. I think by doing this for a few weeks and hopefully upping the speed as I go I will be at the level I want to be in no time. I usually like running outside more, however in recent weeks I have found the treadmill to be helpful in the fact that I can monitor the speed closely and guarantee myself that I am running at an increased level.

I hope this makes sense to anyone reading!! I understand It is a little bit of a ramble, but If I don’t get it out I feel as if others might miss out on something they may not have previously thought of. 

Anyway, Have a great day/ night everyone 🙂

 *the feature image is by Alex Pardee, It makes me feel like this is what my writing resembles 😛 

As an after thought, I found this really great website on eating Protein, it dismisses the myths especially for females who are scared to eat it. 

2 thoughts on “the newest idea

Leave a Reply

