Update

Standard

Hi all I haven’t written on here lately and there have been a few developments/ change of plans. I recently decided instead of applying for SAPOL I would apply directly for QPS. I made this decision due to the fact it was always the end goal to move there so what better time than the present, right?
The process is mostly the same just a little backwards in terms of what the application process is like. 

I believe it will be beneficial to apply to QPS first because there is no application submitted until you have registered your interest over the phone, wait 6-8 weeks and then if accepted you sit the entrance exam/medical and then submit an application online. If at any point I am unsuccessful I have at least had an opportunity to practice the exams ahead of applying for SAPOL. 

On the fitness side of things QPS has a slightly more difficult test and I have upped my training to cater for that, however since my other post on practicing running at the required speed for the beep test, it seems to be working I have gone up another level which is very exciting for me, I am still not where I need to be for the beep test but I am nearly there, I hope by the time the 6-8 week waiting period is up I will be at my best. If i’m not I still have a little more time to get to the required fitness level anyway. I am happy to say my squats and bench presses are strong, I am now practicing more of the prone planks and ‘chin ups’ (I cant actually do one yet, but I am working on it)

For anyone interested this is the layout of the QPS fitness tests.

When I registered my interest over the phone I was able to ask the recruitment officer a few questions, however she was unable to comment on a couple, which were: 

Is the aptitude section of the exam still the same structure as in the Police Prep book?

and

When is the next intake happening? 

I would really like to talk to some officers that are in QPS, so my next step is calling recruitment again and finding out how I can go about that. If there are any reading this or applying, I encourage you to comment, I would really like to hear from people and start making a network base. 

I hope anyone reading this can understand, It was rushed a little due to starting work soon. 

Have  a great day!!

Picture was from Google, unsure of the author I have had it for quite some time. 

2 thoughts on “Update

  1. bigfoot

    sorry didn’t realise you had written another post before i posted my last question, which was asking why you wanted to move to QPS suddenly ‘Durrr” haha. Its such a long process hey, the time wait kills me :p

    Like

Leave a Reply

