Entrance exam update

Standard

I realize this is a little belated since I have been back from my entrance exam for a couple of weeks, but nevertheless I have been and conquered (I hope).
I think the easiest way for me to explain the day is to recap how it panned out, so here goes..

I woke up (*touch-wood*like most people do) and started to get ready. I wanted to make an impression so I went out before I flew to Brisbane and updated my ‘smartlookingpeoples’ attire which consisted of nice suit pants, suit jacket and two blouses because I knew I would change my mind as to which one I liked on the day ( FYI I did, about 4 times and also if I should have gone tucked or un-tucked) I caught a cab and deliberately arrived at the station 30 minutes early, this gave me time to go to the local cafe and buy a bottle of water.

I sat and waited in the waiting room where people started coming in and sitting, now don’t get me wrong I am not a judgmental person but I made a note of observing each person whom was coming into the room. I was surprised and shocked with the lack of dress code  that people were wearing and by this I mean tracksuit jumpers, sneakers and just overall casual attire, I am certain that the recruitment officers watch to see the effort applicants are making, or am I wrong?

The testing was structured similar to the following:

A reading comprehension test: in total applicants had 10 minutes to read and answer a series of questions.

A listening test, this test involved listening to an audio clip and then answering some questions the audio test is the same as the following test where the applicant then watched a video and answers questions. One of these tests required the ability to re account a scenario in 150 words which is to review how applicants can write in detail.

There are two timed tests one is 12 minutes and the other is 45, these tests are very similar to the Police prep book and website. I truly recommend this learning material as it is almost identical, the website also offers audio clips to practice with.

I was surprised as there was no psychological component, I assume this will come at a later date if I get through. At the end of the exam the recruitment officers said the wait will take 6-7  weeks for results as they are doing numerous testing days at this stage. I think this is a good sign because I can only conclude they are starting their recruitment drive, this also buys me time to really work on my fitness which is going quite well, I can almost do a full pull up myself…another few weeks and I will have it I think.

I recommend visiting stations and talking to officers, I did this myself while I was in Brisbane and they where more than welcoming and answered all my questions. My partner has been applying for the Fire Services for a few years now, and I know it is a different service but during interview phase they have asked how many fire fighters he has spoken too and if he can recall names.

I hope this information is helpful, I haven’t specified all of testing details because I think it is important to people to do the extra research themselves, just like I have 🙂 I look forward to updating this blog in a few weeks time, hopefully with a good result!

Image is taken off of Google.

2 thoughts on “Entrance exam update

  1. bigfoot

    Great update 🙂 its funny my test felt exactly the same. Some people showed up in a tracksuit and i was a little bit surprised but each to their own 🙂 Great to hear you smashed it 🙂

    Like

  2. Dawn Nelson.

    Nadi you have done yourself proud. I know of someone special who also would be very proud of you. You go the extra miles to achieve your goal. You have always been a fighter, you have that winning streak. You put in and you will be successful. Like someone would of said to you at one time “If it’s going to be, It’s up to me”. Good Luck To You. Love Dawn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

